Blogtember

Where I’m From: Blogtember 3rd.

I found these prompts from Story of My Life, and I loved them, so I’m going to *try* and join in for the whole month of blogtember and play along!

Today’s prompt: Describe where or what you come from. The people, the places, and/or the factors that make up who you are.

Blogtember

I was raised in a small Pennsylvania town, that once had its glory in the steel mills. It’s a quiet town, now less than 10k people I’d guess, but it’s a good town, still, even though there are now empty buildings and run down houses.

For all but a few years of my life, I lived in the country, so I love the woods and nature and all that goes with it. As a child, we spent a lot of time at our “camp” in the middle of the National Forest. I loved it there, and my husband  and I lived in that area for 8 years before we moved back “home.”

I’m an only child and my parents separated almost before I can remember. My mom tried her hardest, and we survived. My nana and papa, my dad’s parents, were primary people in my childhood and gave me the stability I wouldn’t have had otherwise. My papa died over 20 years ago, and I still think of him every day. And now, even though I’m in my 30s, my Nana is still a primary person in my life. I don’t know what I’d do without her or where I’d be if it wasn’t for her.

A strong work ethic was instilled upon me, even as a child. My family believed in working hard in all you do and always striving for your best. And if I’m able to teach my children anything, I hope to teach them this.

Spending most of my evenings at my grandparents, I was taught that family is important; we ate supper every night at the dinner table and we always said grace. There was someone there to check my homework and make sure I washed my face before bed.

I was taught a love of reading from my Nana, the love of music from Papa. My mother showed me that there was nothing I couldn’t accomplish, while my dad taught the importance of being strong, no matter what happens.

**************

This was much harder than I anticipated. I think perhaps I’ll come back to it and keep working at some point. I lost the flow I was looking for… huh.

Leave a Reply

