Blogtember

Home, Nature, Train: Blogtember 4th

Yes, yes, I know it’s not the 4th, but the fact remains that I’m already a day behind in Story of My Life’s Blogtember challenge. *sigh* I’m going to plug along and see if I can’t catch up over the weekend! Today’s prompt: If you could take three months off from your current life and do anything in the world, what would you do?

Damn, this is a hard one. There are so many things I’d like to do, it’s hard to choose just one! I think I’m going to take a Eat, Pray, Love approach to this one can call it Home, Nature, Train (apparently I like nouns better than verbs).

I’d spend one month at home, doing all those things that need to get done that I keep putting off. I’d paint the walls and tile the bathroom floor. I’d sleep late and wear sweat pants every day. I’d be there to get my kids on the bus, and be there to get them off. We’d have family game nights and sleepovers in the living room. I’d bake muffins and cookies and cakes and make homemade meatloaf and ice cream.

I’d spend the next month in the woods somewhere. I’d spend that month living as close to the land as possible. I’d hike and swim in creeks. I’d cook over a fire and cut my own wood. I’d sit and be still. I’d contemplate and put that damn philosophy degree to some use. I’d write and draw whatever it is that comes to mind. I’d be at peace.

And the last month, I’d jump on a train with no real plans. I’d get off where I want when the urge hit me (I’m a little ADD, so chances are that’d be a lot). I’d see little towns and big cities. I’d eat in drive-ins, diners and dives. I’d read under trees in random parks and watch high school musicals. I’d see the country passing by at 100 mph and enjoy every single minute of it.

Blogtember

2 thoughts on “Home, Nature, Train: Blogtember 4th

Leave a Reply

