5 Sentence Fiction

FSF: Moments

From Lillie McFerrin’s Five Sentence Fiction prompts: Moments.

 

She didn’t realize what happened until after they hit the water, and it seemed as though time stopped as she watched the water level rise up the windshield.

The cold water splashed against her legs at the same time she finally heard the children screaming in the backseat, bringing her back to reality.

Reaching around to unsnap her seatbelt, she takes a deep breath, reminding herself to stay calm because every moment counts.

“Baby girl, it’s gonna be okay,” she turns to look at her daughter, “I need you to unbuckle your brother and get up here in the front seat, quickly.”

When the children climb over the seat, she pulls them into her lap, places a kiss on both their foreheads and whispers, “Now when I say, I want you to take a deep breath, hold it in and kick, and whatever you do, do NOT let go of my hand.”

11 thoughts on “FSF: Moments

    • Hi Lizzie! *waves* I figure *read: hope* in extreme circumstances, part of our mind shuts off to allow us to focus on what needs to be done. Calmness, sometime, keeps us safe!

      Thanks for visiting!

  1. The image here came to my mind like a flash, just as quickly as the wall of water which pushed this woman’s car with her and her children into the nearby rain swollen stream when a dam broke during horrific rainstorm. All this happen in an instant, her actions being driven by sheer instinct rather than a what should I do now,

    QUITE VIVID.

    Now this curious mind wants to know; have I read too much between the lines of what you’ve written, or have read what was in your mind when you wrote this.

    • In my mind, it was driving off a bridge, most likely due to ice. In 2008, I commuted 150 miles a day back and forth to school with a 18 month old and a 3 month old. This was my biggest fear, and I literally drove across every bridge holding my breath.

      So glad you liked it Robin! And thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

