Month in Review

A Month in Review: January

Just trying to keep a loose track of what I’ve read and written during 2014. The two seem to be directly correlated, and I’m hoping that by keeping track, I’ll improve on both aspects.

So here’s January, which was rather productive, if I do say so myself. February… *meh* …Not so much.

Things Good Girls Don’t Do by Codi Gary

  • Not too bad, quick romance. The story line is decent and the characters are likable. There’s a few grammatical mistakes, which always pisses me off if I pay for a book, but overall a good read.

Wait for You by J. Lynn

  • A “New Adult” novel, which genre seems to be growing quickly, which is why I read it; I wanted to see what it was all about. It was well written, the plot moved well, although I found the protagonist a little obnoxious.

Insignificant Others by Stephen McCauley

  • Way different, in story, from what I’m used to. I honestly don’t know how to classify it. I guess it’s a romance of sorts, lacking the romance and sex, if that makes any sense. Very little character growth. I’m not exactly sure how I feel about it.

Dinner with a Perfect Stranger by David Gregory

  • Typical of Gregory, it was quick and refreshing. I read it in the middle of the night, in well less than 2 hours. Using it for the book club I’m trying to start.

Page by Page by Heather Sellers

  • Excellent book that got me writing. I filled half a journal while reading it, partially with writing exercises and partly with thoughts on the writing and advise given. I would recommend it to just about anybody interested in writing.

I wrote 9 posts at LSAM, 2 posts at Diary and 3 posts here. I’d like to see more, but hell, at least it’s something.

In retrospect, I was very productive while working my way through Page by Page. Shortly after finishing it, my writing slowed, then stopped. I thought about it often, but I didn’t do a damn thing. Still working on that one.

Overall, I’m pleased to have read so much and to have started writing again. It feels cathartic.

One thought on “A Month in Review: January

  1. Pingback: A Month in Review: February | Caitlyn McConnell

Leave a Reply

