Month in Review

A Month in Review: February

Last month I mentioned I wanted to keep track of my reading and writing for the whole year, so here’s a run down of February.

These are the books I read.

They Wrote the Book: 13 women mystery writers tell all edited by Helen Windrath

  • This is a group of essays from, you guessed it, woman writers. It contained a lot of good information about what works and what doesn’t, about inspiration and fears. It talks about overcoming and overworking. I’m not a huge mystery fan, and I didn’t know any of the writers, but it was still interesting.

Ruined By Tracy Wolff

  • A romance/erotica novel, very much in the Sylvia Day and EL James style, where the main characters are a broken girl and a rich man. The tension is good, the characters likeable enough, although frustrating, such as the protagonists in 50 Shades and the Cross series. The sex, once it starts happening is hot. I read it quickly, probably finishing it in less than two days.

Literary Miscellany: Everything you always wanted to know about literature by Alex Palmer

  • I don’t really know what I was thinking when I picked this book up at the library, and, honestly, I’m not even sure what I think about it now. It was very random, odd little bits and pieces of information on authors and readers and books and such. I will tell you though, it did not live up to its title as it was definitely NOT everything I always wanted to know about literature.

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

  • Absolutely hysterical. Literally laugh out loud funny. If you like to read, if you have an interest in mental health or the autism spectrum, it is so worth the time to read it. Hell, even if you don’t care about those things at all, it’s still worth reading. One of the most unique books I’ve read in along time.

Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls: Essays, etc by David Sedaris

  • Let me start by saying I love Sedaris. And I was not let down with this collection of essays. Again, literally laugh out loud funny. I tried to pay attention to writing style and structure more than I normally do, as I could find worse role models than Sedaris (maybe?), but I would loss myself, no longer looking at it as a writer, but solely as a reader.

 

So that’s it for the reading. And honestly, the writing’s not any better. One post here and only four over at Love Sex and Marriage. I’d really like to see more, but alas, it is what it is.

I did start working on a new novel, and I’m taking a different approach than before. I’ve only actually written the first chapter, as I’m using the Snowflake Method, and working on expanding the synapsis. So far, I like the approach. It’s much different than when I wrote my last novel, which I started with no plot and no forethought. I learned the story line as I went along and each day was something new.

I didn’t think I’d ever be a “plotter” but I’m finding it no different really, creatively speaking. It still takes me some place new every time I sit down to write and I’m still eager to get further into the story. I’m still contemplating this, working it around in my mind.

I also want to mention that I didn’t really do crap for the first 10 days of the month. I didn’t feel well and, when I look at my few, short journal entries, I was rather depressed. Or perhaps it was PMS, but either way, I was not in a good place inside my head. Now here’s the question… Was I shitty because I wasn’t reading/writing, or was I not reading/writing because I was shitty?

I’ve also just recently started following a few more writing prompts. I think I’m going to start doing more of them, even when I don’t necessarily feel inspired. Kind of like push ups for my brain.

2 thoughts on “A Month in Review: February

  1. What is the snowflake method?? I’m typically more of a pantser when I write though I have done some outlining on a few stories. My writing tends to have better flow if I start with an idea in my head and just write from there. Hunter’s Gazelle evolved that way and I can see how much the story has filled out through subsequent drafts.

    I feel you on the writing front! February wasn’t a good writing month for me. It was hard to produce, harder than normal.

    • It’s by Randy Ingermanson and focuses on design. It’s about starting small, with a sentence and building it outwards. It’s interesting, because you get to watch the story grow, not from beginning to end, but from the inside, if that makes any sense at all!
      This is the first time I’ve ever plotted. Typically, I have no idea where I’m going, so this is very different for me too.
      I’m blaming it on the crazy weather. Apparently my creativity is frozen. *hugs and kisses*

Leave a Reply

