Month in Review

A Month in Review: March

As I’ve mentioned, I’m trying to keep track of my reading and writing, to both see how much of it I do and as a way of holding myself accountable. I think my hope was that it would motivate me more, and I don’t really know if it’s working or not, but I’m going to continue like it is.

Here’s what I read in March:

  • The Invention of Wings by Susan Monk Kidd. I’ve liked everything I’ve read of Kidd’s and this was no different. The story is told by two very different perspectives, which are eerily similar. It’s a phenomenal story, and the fact that some of the characters are based on historical figures makes it even more intriguing.
  • The Reason I Jump by Naoki Higashida. I don’t know if my words can express the impact of this book. Written by a young boy with autism, it explains how he thinks and why he does what he does in his own words, pointed out letter by letter on an alphabet board that makes communication easier for him. His articulation of his experience with autism was more enlightening than anything I’ve ever read on the disease before. I recommend this book to anyone. Seriously, go read it.
  • Writing Magic by Gail Carson Levine. Meh. As a writing book, it’s on the bottom quarter of those I’ve read. I must say, it’s written for young writers, and her advice is basic, keep writing, which is perhaps what a 13 year old needs to hear. The majority of the prompts were extremely disappointing, and I will admit that I didn’t do them.
  • A Moment by Marie Hall. I really like this story at the beginning, but I had to force myself to finish it. The characters are likable, and it’s nice to see a flawed protagonist, but the plot petered out about two-thirds of the way through. And there wasn’t enough sex for my liking. Just sayin’.

 

And what I wrote:

  • 5 posts here. Better than the month before. And there were 2 that I really liked, and that doesn’t happen too often.
  • 6 posts on Love Sex and Marriage, along with a reblog and [e]lust, which I’m not counting. I posted a short piece of erotica, which I haven’t done in quite awhile, so I’m pleased with that.
  • And nothing since January on A Dairy of a Bad Mom. I guess I should really try to post something there. Sad part is, I’ve got 2 different posts written in my journal, just haven’t got them up yet.

 

I have written in my journal, random stuff, more often, but yet still not enough. I want to get to the point that I’m jotting down at least a 100 words a day, at a minimum, even if it’s simple thoughts about simple things. I was doing pretty well with the new novel I’m working on, character development and synopses and such, but I haven’t touched it in awhile, probably since the middle of the month. Guess I should get back to it soon, before the story leaves me, drifting off into the ether.

Overall, I can’t complain too much about March, averaging a book a week, and over twice that in blog posts. It’s getting better, I’ll give it that.

This month, I’m trying to partake in the Ultimate Blog Challenge here at Caitlyn McConnell, and we’ll see how that goes. I’m not holding my breath.

2 thoughts on “A Month in Review: March

  1. Caitlyn I applaud you on reading four books in one month. As much as I love to read I can’t complete one in that time frame because my attention span won’t let me focus that long. It’s also commendable that you’ve done some writing in this time frame as well. I aspire to your level of focus and commitment. Keep up the good work and don’t be so hard on yourself 🙂

    • There have been times in life I could read 10 to 15 books a month, without even thinking twice about it. But those times are long past. 🙂 I decided at the beginning of the year to finally buckle down and set forth some goals, instead of just thinking and talking about them. I decided one of the best ways to improve my writing was to read more and write as much as possible. So thank you, Stacey, for your compliments!

Leave a Reply

