Personal Essays

Incompetence.

I have come to the conclusion there is too much incompetence in the world.

When I was in high school, I started working afternoons at a local medical center in the record room. We would prepare charts for the 17 doctors’ upcoming appointments, and within a year, I was promoted to run the afternoon’s shift (with a whopping 4 employees). I stayed at the job through college and eventually they created a position for me, where I went through outdated charts, purging what could be thrown and saving what must be kept. I received a handful of bonuses and was often praised for my performance.

And honestly, I did shit. Oh, don’t get me wrong. I had a job to do and I did it well. But it only took half the time they allotted me. I spent too much time on the computer, playing games, writing, outside smoking cigarettes. I eventually put in my resignation, partly due to worrying about my work ethic. I feared working somewhere where I barely had to work, wasting my time doing mind-numbing nothingness, would not only drive me insane, but would make me not want to work a solid day, having to stay busy and get things done.

Fast forward. After I graduated, I worked at a court ordered placement facility for adolescent boys. Within 18 months, I had a supervisor position. About 6 months into this position, my family and I started to consider moving back to our home town. Soon after mentioning it to my boss, I was called into a meeting with him, his boss, and his boss’s boss. I was offered another position, one they “just created.” It came with a raise and a better schedule, but more responsibility, as it would be additional work on top of what I was already doing. When I received the raise, it ended up being $5K more than what my boss was making.

When I left, another 6 months after this, everyone was shocked, even though I had told them I would be leaving when it was time for me to leave, that money wouldn’t keep me there.

And now I’m 2 and 1/2 years into my current position. I produce more units (therefore more money) than anyone who does what I do. I receive top marks every year on my evaluations, so much that my supervisor sometimes has to fight to justify my score. I recently received a bonus, which I didn’t even know the company gave.

And yet still I find myself slacking, blowing things off at times. I carry a heavy caseload and spend little time in the office. But still, there are days where I go home early and take long lunches.

But still I get praise and recognition, and honestly, I’m dumbstruck. I am not special. I am not overly talented. I work  hard, and do what I must, often times more, but I don’t work as hard as I could. I don’t utilize my time to the best of my ability. But yet they all think I do.

And I don’t understand it. How incompetent must the average worker be, if I get so much recognition for not doing my best. And if the average person is this incompetent, who the hell have we gotten to where we are today?

3 thoughts on “Incompetence.

  1. We’re a people of below par work ethic. I admit to it. I will work hard when it’s required, but I don’t work to my potential. I strive to do the best job I’m able to though.

  2. Pingback: Secure | Cara Thereon

Leave a Reply

