Personal Essays

Letter to My Literature Professor

Dear Dr. Hall,

I’m writing simply to say thank you.

For what, you may ask, as it’s been 6 years since we’ve seen one another, more than 10 since I sat in your classroom.

But still, I want to thank you.

You may not know it, but you inspired me all those years ago. You gave me confidence in my writing, brought out a passion for words buried deep within me.

How I wish for you and your red pen today. What I wouldn’t give for you to make my paper bleed: fix my comma splices, tell me what works and what doesn’t. To let me know when revision weakens my prose and when it improves it.

To have you ask questions, seek clarification when my meanings are blurred. For constructive criticism and ideas for what could make things better, stronger, clearer or more concise.

I need someone to push me further, take me out of my comfort zone, make me go to the next level.

Someone who believes I can.

Thank you for making me want these things. For demanding more, always knowing how far to push, never settling for less.

Thank you for making my work bleed. For making me put blood on the page.

Thank you,

Forever your student,

~Caitlyn.

3 thoughts on “Letter to My Literature Professor

  1. I’d be happy to take a look at anything you wanted looked at, while I am not the best editor, I am a good idea bouncer offer and question asker to motivate new directions of thinking on work. Maybe I should put that on my resume. 🙂

    • I think those are wonderful resume qualities! I should have email you. I just wrote my first CV, and I’m pretty sure it SUCKED.
      I look damn good on my resume, but this thing made it look like I hadn’t accomplished much.
      I’m going to do some revisions and then I’ll probably email it to you.

Leave a Reply

